

MINUTES Confidential

April 19, 2024

The Nominating Committee of Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools (TRACS) met via Zoom at 2:00 p.m. on April 19, 2024, with Dr. Gordon Middleton presiding.

Present: Gordon Middleton (Chair)

Laura Colson Jennifer Ewing David Nicholas Joseph Paturi Troy Shoemaker Richard Yoon

Benson Karanja (Ex Officio) Tim Eaton (Ex Officio)

Kristen Runion (Staff) Meryl Lee Sawyer (Staff)

Absent: Mac Heavener

Prayer: Dr. Gordon Middleton

Approval of Minutes:

Being no questions, the vote was unanimous to accept the minutes from the October 2023 meeting.

Review of Nominees

For the Commissioner Class of 2024–2027, six positions need to be filled: five Institutional Representatives and one Public Representative.

Each of the nine nominees were reviewed by a member of the committee using the *Nominating Committee Review Worksheet for Accreditation Commission Nominees*. An oral report was presented on each nominee, and the nominees were voted on individually. Dr. Paturi and Mr. Yoon recused when their nominations were presented to the committee.

After voting on each nominee, it was determined that the nine nominees met the TRACS requirements and preferences to run for election. The following slate was approved and will be presented to the Commission for final approval:

Institutional Representatives

- 1. Dr. Martine Audéoud
- 2. Dr. Laura Bonitto
- 3. Dr. Tobias England
- 4. Dr. Lester McCorn
- 5. Ms. Ann Marie Rill
- 6. Dr. Christian Wei
- 7. Dr. Gary Weier
- 8. Mr. Richard Yoon, JD

Public Representative

9. Dr. Joseph Paturi

The TRACS office will establish the sequence of names on the ballot by random numbering and will present the ballot to the commission for approval at the October commission meeting.

Dr. Colson reported that she is transitioning from Bennett College to a non-profit organization as their COO. If possible, Dr. Colson would like to continue to serve TRACS as a Public Representative rather than an Institutional Representative. Dr. Shoemaker moved to reclassify Dr. Colson as a Public Representative to complete the remaining one-year vacancy left by the retirement of Dr. Connie Pearson. Dr. Paturi seconded and the motion passed with one abstention

After the election, a mentor will be assigned to the newly elected commissioners. Each new commissioner will participate in a New Commissioner Training, which is held before the Accreditation Commission meeting in the fall.

With no further business, Commissioner Nicholas made the motion to adjourn; Mr. Yoon seconded. The vote was unanimous.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Meryl Lee Sawyer